The short version
Capital One Venture X is the best-value lounge card at $395 with Priority Pass. Amex Platinum has the most lounges at $895; Sapphire Reserve allows guests.
The best credit card for airport lounge access in 2026 is the Capital One Venture X for most travellers, because it gets you into Capital One Lounges and more than 1,300 Priority Pass lounges for a $395 annual fee. The Platinum Card from American Express opens the most doors — over 1,550 lounges, including Centurion Lounges and 10 Delta Sky Club visits a year — but it costs $895. The Chase Sapphire Reserve, at $795, is the one whose card page states you can bring up to two guests into its own Sapphire Lounges. If you fly only a few times a year, none of them is likely to be worth the fee for lounges alone.

- Priority Pass comes with all three cards, but you must enrol before you can use it.
- The real differences are the issuer’s own lounges: Capital One Lounges, Chase Sapphire Lounges or Amex Centurion Lounges.
- Guest rules change often. Only Chase states a guest allowance on the card page; check the others before you bring anyone.
- Divide the fee by your visits. At four lounge visits a year, the Venture X costs about $99 a visit before any credits.
The three lounge cards side by side
All three cards include Priority Pass; what separates them is the issuer’s own lounge network, the fee and what they say about guests. Every figure below was read on the issuer’s own site on 27 September 2026.
| Venture X | Sapphire Reserve | Amex Platinum | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $395 | $795 | $895 |
| Issuer’s own lounges | Capital One Lounges and Landings | Chase Sapphire Lounges | Centurion Lounges |
| Priority Pass | Yes, 1,300+ lounges, after enrolment | Yes, 1,300+ lounges | Yes, after enrolment |
| Other lounges | — | — | 10 Delta Sky Club visits a year on eligible Delta flights |
| Total network stated | — | — | Over 1,550 lounges |
| Guests | Not stated on the card page | Up to two guests in Sapphire Lounges | Not stated on the card page |
| Authorised user fee | Check Capital One | $195 | $195 |
Best value: Capital One Venture X
The Venture X is the cheapest way to get both an issuer lounge network and Priority Pass, and its fee is partly offset by its own perks. The primary cardholder gets Capital One Lounges and Landings and 1,300+ Priority Pass lounges after enrolling, by showing the physical card or a digital lounge pass in the Capital One app; access is subject to space. The card also gives a $300 annual credit for bookings through Capital One Travel and 10,000 bonus miles every account anniversary, and earns 2X miles on everything.
What it costs you: Capital One Lounges exist only where Capital One has opened one, and the card page does not set out a guest policy, so check Capital One’s current lounge terms before you plan to bring a partner. Pick something else if you mostly fly Delta, where the Platinum’s Sky Club visits matter.
Most lounges: The Platinum Card from American Express
The Platinum has the largest network of the three, which matters most if you connect through many different airports. American Express says its Global Lounge Collection covers over 1,550 airport lounges, including Centurion Lounges, Priority Pass membership after enrolment and 10 Delta Sky Club visits a year on eligible Delta flights. It also carries a long list of statement credits, including up to $600 a year on Fine Hotels + Resorts or The Hotel Collection bookings and up to $200 in airline fee credits.
What it costs you: $895 a year, and much of the value sits in credits you have to remember to use. Amex does not state guest rules on the card page, so check before you travel. Pick the Venture X instead if you want lounge access for less than half the fee.
Best for bringing a guest: Chase Sapphire Reserve
The Sapphire Reserve is the one card of the three whose card page promises guests: up to two in Chase Sapphire Lounges. It also includes Priority Pass with 1,300+ lounges. Beyond lounges it earns 8x on Chase Travel and 4x on flights and hotels booked direct, and lists an up to $300 travel credit each account anniversary year.
What it costs you: $795, and its own lounges exist only where Chase has opened one. Guests in Priority Pass lounges are a separate question; the card page does not settle it, so check with Chase. The Reserve is also the strongest of the three on insurance, with trip cancellation cover of up to $10,000 per covered traveller.
What each lounge visit really costs
The honest test is the annual fee divided by the visits you will actually make, before counting any other perk. If you pass through a lounge four times a year, each visit on the Venture X costs about $99 of fee; at twelve visits it falls to about $33.

| Lounge visits a year | Venture X ($395) | Sapphire Reserve ($795) | Amex Platinum ($895) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | $98.75 a visit | $198.75 a visit | $223.75 a visit |
| 12 | $32.92 a visit | $66.25 a visit | $74.58 a visit |
The credits change that picture only if you would have spent the money anyway. A $300 Capital One Travel credit is worth $300 to someone who books through Capital One Travel and nothing to someone who never does. If the numbers above look high for your travel, our guide to lounge access without flying business class covers day passes and cheaper routes in.
Who should not get a lounge card
Skip these cards if you fly a couple of times a year or carry a balance. For occasional flyers, paying for a lounge on the day costs less than any of these fees. And if you do not pay in full every month, interest wipes out the perks: the Venture X’s variable APR runs from 19.49% to 28.49% and the Sapphire Reserve’s from 19.49% to 27.99%.
Open the Priority Pass or issuer app and check every airport on your route before you count on a lounge. A card with 1,300 lounges can still have none at the airport where you need one. And if the trip is a trek, remember that lounge cards are about the airport, not the mountain: read the gap in your card’s travel insurance that a trek walks into before you rely on card cover.
For turning points into the seat before the lounge, how to fly business class for less is the next read.
A long-haul trip to Nepal is where a lounge on the connection earns its keep. Annapurna Base Camp is nine days at $920 USD solo and Everest Base Camp is twelve days at $1,700 USD solo, including permits, a government-registered guide, a porter, teahouses and meals.
See the Annapurna Base Camp trek →What is the best credit card for airport lounge access?
For most travellers, the Capital One Venture X: Capital One Lounges plus 1,300+ Priority Pass lounges for a $395 annual fee. The Amex Platinum has the largest network, over 1,550 lounges, at $895.
Which lounge card lets me bring guests?
Of these three, only the Chase Sapphire Reserve states a guest allowance on its card page: up to two guests in Chase Sapphire Lounges. Check Capital One and American Express for their current guest rules.
Do I need to enrol in Priority Pass?
Yes. The Venture X and Amex Platinum both say Priority Pass access requires enrolment. Enrol before your trip so the membership is active when you reach the airport.
Does the Amex Platinum include Delta Sky Club access?
It includes 10 Delta Sky Club visits a year on eligible Delta flights, as part of its Global Lounge Collection.
Is a lounge card worth it if I fly twice a year?
Usually not for lounges alone. At four visits a year the Venture X works out at about $99 of fee per visit before other perks, and the other two cost more. A day pass is often cheaper.
Keep reading
The four decisions that choose a card, with every comparison in one place.
Day passes, memberships and the cheaper routes in.
How points and timing get you the seat.
How earning and redeeming really work.
Which $95 card earns more on a real budget.
Sources: Capital One’s Venture X card page and its Venture X overview; Chase’s Sapphire Reserve card page; American Express’s Platinum Card page, all read on 27 September 2026 for fees, lounge access, credits, insurance and APRs. The per-visit figures are our own arithmetic on the annual fees. This is general information, not financial advice; card offers change, so confirm the current terms with the issuer before you apply. No card issuer pays us for placement on this page.

Written by
Bishnu AdhikariPokhara-based, NMA-certified trekking guides. We’ve led 5,000+ treks across the Annapurna and Everest regions since 1998 — every word here comes from the trail. More from this author →
Share this article
Ready to Trek?
From reading about it to standing on it
Our Pokhara-based guides have been doing this since 1998. Tell us your dates and fitness level — we'll build your perfect itinerary. Free, no obligation.
Why trek with our licensed agencyMore guides like this
Popular trips to consider
View all treks & toursFree Trekker’s Insider Guide
Permits, packing lists, cost breakdowns — no fluff.
We send one useful email. You can unsubscribe anytime.

